Chakras … such an interesting topic.


I spent two hours in the week at an introduction to chakra session.

For those of you who know all about Chakra Healing, I apologise for being redundant but I feel I have to share what I have learnt. There is an activity at the end which is what we had to do during the session. Trust me I felt a bit strange doing it but you should give it a go, you may be surprised, I know I was.

Ancient cultures knew that all living things carried a life force with them. They called the centers of energy that move inside of us, the 7 chakras.

So what are the seven chakras?

Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that literally means wheel.

This is because the life force, that moves inside of you is always spinning. This energy has 7 centers in your body, starting at the base of your spine and moving all the way up, to the top of your head.

In a healthy, balanced person, the 7 chakras provide exactly the right amount of energy to every part of your body, mind and spirit.

But, if one of your chakras is too open and spinning too quickly, or if it is too closed and moving too slowly, your health and wellbeing suffers.

By learning about the 7 chakras, you will be more in tune with the natural energy cycles of your body.

Before learning about the seven chakras and what each of them do, take a moment to tune in to your body and see if you can feel your chakras at work. For beginners, these chakra exercises will seem “strange” – simply relax and feel.


You may sense the energy centers very lightly, very intensely or not at all.

Think of this exercise like an introduction; you’re tuning in for, perhaps, the very first time.

  • First, start by making sure you’re in a quiet space. Sit quietly for a moment and take a few deep breaths. Let tension and stress slide away for just a moment. Just be in the moment, with your body.
  • Now, bring your attention to the base of your spine, your tailbone, and imagine a bright spinning red light. Feel it pulsing and rotating with your breath. Sit with that for a moment.
  • Move your attention up your spine to the area a couple of inches below your belly button. Feel the warmth of a bright, orange spinning light. Again, notice how it moves with your breath.
  • Guide your attention further up to a couple inches above your belly button. You’re probably familiar with this area, because when you feel strong emotions like love or fear, you likely feel it here. Notice how you can sense the intense yellow light rotating in that spot.
  • Bring your attention further up to the center of your chest where your heart is. This area harnesses a bright green light. When you’re touched or moved, you might instinctively place your hand over this spot. Connect with that area now.
  • Then, bring your attention to your throat, the dip in between your collar bones. Imagine a bright blue light spinning in that area.You may feel the urge to swallow or clear your throat as you think of it.
  • Next, move your attention up to the space on your forehead between your eyebrows, your third eye. This area holds a deep indigo rotating light. Imagine yourself becoming wiser as it spins and becomes brighter.
  • Finally, shift your attention to the very top of your head. Imagine a vibrant, spinning violet light that shines right out of the top of your body. This light connects you to the universe. Feel the peace that comes with noticing this light.


Now, I did this exercise and I will admit to not focusing for the first few chakras and feeling a bit silly sitting with my eyes closed in a room full of strangers. But when I got to my belly, I felt something and I definitely saw a pale yellow light. I am wondering if there is something to this Chakra malarkey … After the way my Tiger’s Eye has changed things for me, I am truly interested in learning more.

On that note, I am off to take my son to soccer and to get some groceries … life can’t be all meditation and relaxation.

Please continue with me on my journey of peace and fulfilment.

Wishing you light and love


light and love

Welcome Newcomer